The Turnaround Management Association (TMA) announced that ten icons will be inducted into the Turnaround, Restructuring and Distressed Investing Industry Hall of Fame in 2013. The inductees will be honored during The TMA Annual, taking place October 3-5 at the Marriott Wardman Park in Washington, D.C.

“As TMA celebrates its 25th anniversary in 2013, it is a great privilege to honor 10 highly-esteemed professionals who have excelled in and advanced our industry,” says Ronald R. Sussman, TMA chairman and partner in Cooley LLP’s Corporate Restructuring group. “The contributions of these inductees have done much to elevate the corporate restructuring community generally and TMA in particular.”

This year’s class is the second to be honored following the induction of the inaugural class in 2008 during TMA’s 20th anniversary year. The Hall of Fame was created by TMA to honor those whose outstanding individual contributions have made a lasting positive impact on an industry dedicated to stabilizing underperforming companies, rebuilding corporate value and retaining jobs.

“Whether a Certified Turnaround Professional, attorney, investor, financial advisor, or judge, this year’s inductees have played significant roles in improving countless companies over the years, and serve as role models for our industry’s professionalism,” says Thomas M. Kim, CTP, TMA president and managing director and founder, r2 advisors. “We look forward to celebrating their accomplishments and service to the industry.”

Following are the ten inductees of the 2013 Turnaround, Restructuring and Distressed Investing Industry Hall of Fame class:

  • Timothy R. Coleman, The Blackstone Group
  • Hon. James M. Farley, QC, McCarthy Tetrault
  • Hon. Arthur J. Gonzalez, New York University, School of Law
  • Kenneth N. Klee, Klee, Tuchin, Bogdanoff & Stern
  • Albert A. Koch, CTP, AlixPartners
  • M. Freddie Reiss, CTP, FTI Consulting
  • Barry W. Ridings, Lazard Freres & Co
  • Sheila T. Smith, Deloitte Financial Advisory Services
  • James H.M. Sprayregen, Kirkland & Ellis
  • Bettina M. Whyte, CTP, Alvarez & Marsal

  • In addition and importantly five past TMA chairpersons will be inducted this year as honorary members of the Hall of Fame:

  • Mark S. Indelicato, 2012 TMA Chairperson, Hahn & Hessen
  • Lisa M. Poulin, CTP, 2011 TMA Chairperson, Deloitte CRG
  • Patrick C. Lagrange, 2010 TMA Chairperson, Carl Marks Advisory Group
  • Arthur T. Perkins Jr., 2009 TMA Chairperson, Arthur Perkins Consulting
  • William E.J. Skelly, 2008 TMA Chairperson, Heenan Blaikie

  • For a list of past inductees, visit