The Turnaround Management Association announced at The TMA Annual on October 3, the election of Hon. Kevin J. Carey, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, District of Delaware, as the 2014 TMA President at The TMA Annual. His term as president begins January 1, 2014.

“I am grateful to be chosen to lead such a multi-faceted organization comprised of the full continuum of restructuring and distressed investing professionals,” said Judge Carey. “I am honored to be the first bankruptcy judge to serve as president and to have this opportunity to contribute outside of the courtroom. I look forward to building upon the success of my predecessors.”

Judge Carey was appointed to his current role in December 2005 after previously serving as a U.S. Bankruptcy Judge for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania since 2001. Judge Carey began his legal career as a law clerk, and then served as Clerk of Court of the Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania. Prior to taking the bench, he was a partner and member of the Financial Services Department of Fox, Rothschild, O’Brien & Frankel, where he represented financial institutions, corporate creditors, landlords and debtors in bankruptcy, workouts and financing matters.

Current TMA President Thomas M. Kim, CTP, managing director and founder of r2 advisors llc, transitions to chairman in 2014, taking over for Ronald R. Sussman, partner, Cooley LLP, who moves to immediate past chair.

A Certified Turnaround Professional with more than 20 years of experience with underperforming businesses, Kim focuses on the middle market. Prior to founding r² advisors llc, Kim worked for a private investment company that targeted special assets transactions. Although retired from law practice since 2001, Kim began his professional career as a bankruptcy lawyer.

Joining Judge Carey, Kim, and Sussman on the 2014 TMA Executive Board are:

Corporate Secretary: Andrew M. Toft, Andrew M. Toft Attorney at Law
Vice President of Chapter Relations: Richard Bochicchio, Sterling National Bank
Vice President of Communications: Jonathan P. Reimche, PricewaterhouseCoopers
Vice President of Conferences: Jeffrey C. Hampton, Saul Ewing LLP
Vice President of Education: Harold D. Israel, Goldstein & McClintock LLP
Vice President of Finance: Thomas E. Pabst, HYPERAMS LLC
Vice President of International Relations: Jukka-Pekka Joensuu, PricewaterhouseCoopers
Vice President of Membership: Mette H. Kurth, Arent Fox LLP
Vice President of Certification: Bernadette M. Barron, CTP, Barron Business Consulting
Member-At-Large: David F.W. Cohen, Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP
Member-At-Large: Michael E. Imber, Alvarez & Marsal
Member-At-Large: Kenneth R. Yager, Newpoint Advisors Corporation
Chapter Resource & Response Committee Chair: Milly Chow, Blake Cassels & Graydon LLP
Chapter Presidents’ Council Chair: Richard S. Infantino, Deloitte CRG
Ex-Officio Member/TMA CEO: Gregory J. Fine, CAE

Each of these board members is also part of the 2014 TMA Board of Trustees. The following 27 members are additional Board of Trustees representatives (the roster will be rounded out by the 2014 roster of chapter presidents, which has not been finalized):

Michael C. Appel, Appel Associates
Matthew Bordwin, GA Keen Realty Advisors
Duncan S. Bourne, CTP, Wynnchurch Capital
Scott A. Eisenberg, Amherst Partners
Matthew S. English, CTP, Arch + Beam
Adrian R. Frankum, FTI Consulting
Rosemary Gambardella, U.S. Bankruptcy Court District of New Jersey
Anthony J. Gerbino, Freestone Partners
Mary Jo Heson, Lane Powell PC
Brent P. Hazzard, GE Capital
Robert Himmel, Gordon Brothers Group
Robert D. Katz, CTP, Executive Sounding Board Associates
Carl S. Lane, Willow Tree Consulting Group
Robert Lemons, Weil Gotshal & Manges
Derek F. Meek, Burr & Forman
Ronald E. Meisler, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom
John Nestel, Freehills
James L. Nichols, Eide Bailly
Geoffrey A. Richards, Canaccord Genuity
Edward J. Sanz, CTP, Anderson Bauman Tourtellot Vos & Co
Cathy L. Reece, Fennemore Craig PC
Michael W. Scolaro, Harris Bank
Keith J. Shapiro, Greenberg Traurig
James B. Shein, Northwestern University Kellogg School of Management
J. Scott Victor, SSG Capital Advisors