The American Bankruptcy Institute elected Soneet R. Kapila of KapilaMukamal president for a one-year term, succeeding Hon. Kevin J. Carey (retired) of Hogan Lovells, who now assumes the position of immediate past president. In addition, Christopher A. Ward of Polsinelli, who was formerly ABI vice president of development, was named president-elect and will become ABI president in April 2024, while Robert P. Reynolds of Reynolds, Reynolds & Little will succeed s Hon. Barbara J. Houser (retired) as chairman of the board for a one-year term.

Elsewhere, Bradley D. Sharp of DSI will replace Ward as vice president of development and will serve a two-year term. Hon. Michelle Harner (District of Maryland), formerly vice president of research grants, was elected to serve a two-year term as vice president of education, succeeding Douglas L. Lutz of Frost Brown Todd. Hon. Hannah L. Blumenstiel (Northern District of California) was elected to serve a two-year term as vice president of research grants, succeeding Harner. Stephen Alexander Spitzer of AlixPartners was elected to serve as an at-large member of the executive committee. Eve H. Karasik of Levene, Neale, Bender, Yoo & Golubchik was reappointed to a two-year term as vice president of diversity and inclusion.

Lastly, eight ABI members were elected to their first terms on the ABI board of directors:

  • Marchand Boyd of Axos Bank
  • Katherine Catanese of Foley & Lardner
  • Matthew Faga of Markus Williams
  • Allen Kadish of Archer & Greiner
  • Evelyn Meltzer of Troutman Pepper Hamilton Sanders
  • Hon. Sage Sigler (Northern District of Georgia)
  • Kristina Stanger of Nyemaster Goode
  • David Wender of Eversheds Sutherland