John Hawk rejoined Womble Bond Dickinson as a partner in the firm’s business litigation group. Previously with Womble Bond Dickinson from 2006 to 2021, Hawk is the first partner addition to the Denver office since it was opened last month by the energy and natural resources team of Scot Anderson and Ana Maria Gutiérrez.

“John’s return to Womble reflects the strong culture of our firm, and his practice adds meaningful bench strength as we continue to expand our complex litigation capabilities across our domestic footprint,” Chris Jones, who leads the business litigation practice group and serves on the global board of Womble Bond Dickinson, said.

Hawk has represented Fortune 500 companies for nearly two decades in complex commercial disputes. He has deep knowledge of consumer finance and insurance litigation. He defends banks and other lenders, mortgage servicers, and life and disability insurers in state and federal courts, including cases brought under the Fair Credit Reporting Act, Telephone Consumer Protection Act, Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and Employee Retirement Income Security Act.

“We are excited to have John join our new and growing Denver office,” Anderson, who is a managing partner of the Denver office of Womble Bond Dickinson, said. “John will be the foundation of a broad litigation practice in this office, and his expertise and experience will serve our clients well.”

Hawk rejoined Womble Bond Dickinson from Fox Rothschild, where he was based in the firm’s Denver and Greenville, SC, offices.

“I’m thrilled to return to Womble, the firm where I began my legal career,” Hawk said. “In addition to contributing to the growth of the Denver office, I look forward to once again working with distinguished colleagues across the firm to advise clients in the financial services and energy sectors on their complex commercial litigation matters.”

Hawk is the 13th partner to join Womble Bond Dickinson since the start of the year, following Liz Campbell, Patricia Cymerman, Ana Maria Gutiérrez, Edward Kim, Carol Lee, Kristina Moore, Tomio Narita, Joe Patella, Harry Rimm, Gina Schaecher, Mariam Tadros and Jeff Topor.