CB Financial Services, the holding company of Community Bank and Exchange Underwriters, appointed John H. Montgomery president and CEO of the company and the bank effective Aug. 31. Montgomery will succeed Barron P. McCune Jr., who has been serving in an interim capacity since early January. Montgomery also will serve as a director of the company and the bank.

Concurrent with the effectiveness of Montgomery’s appointment as president and CEO, McCune will become an executive consultant to the company and the bank through March 31, 2021 to assist in the leadership transition. McCune also will become a director emeritus of the bank and will continue to serve as a director emeritus of the company.

Montgomery has more than 30 years of experience. He started his banking career in Philadelphia and has a range of experience with both large and small institutions. Most recently, in 2005, Montgomery joined Susquehanna Bank and held a variety of executive positions for the next nine years, including president of Susquehanna’s Pennsylvania division and senior credit risk officer.

In 2014, Montgomery was recruited by First Bank, a privately held $6 billion bank located in St. Louis. At First Bank, Montgomery acted as chief credit officer and served on the bank’s board of directors and executive committee.

“I am honored to be selected as Community Bank’s next president and CEO. Community Bank is uniquely positioned for continued success,” Montgomery said. “The bank’s strength, legacy and brand make Community Bank an integral part of the communities we serve. I look forward to continuing that legacy, deepening those ties and growing the bank.”

“The board of directors of Community Bank is very pleased to welcome John Montgomery to the bank as president and CEO,” Mark Fox, chair of the board of directors of CB Financial Services and Community Bank, said. “Mr. Montgomery brings a broad and varied background in banking with him and we look forward to his leadership as we continue to grow the Community Bank franchise across the tri-state area.”