The Turnaround Management Association (TMA) has announced 45 professionals will receive the prestigious 2012 TMA Turnaround and Transaction of the Year Awards on November 3. The winners will be honored during a special Awards Brunch, taking place at 9 a.m. at the association’s 24th annual conference, The Annual, held at the Westin Copley Place Boston, Boston, MA.

Since 1993, TMA has honored excellence through its annual awards program, which recognizes the most successful turnarounds and impactful transactions. This year’s winners saved countless jobs and made a significant economic impact, both locally and globally.

The three companies restructured by the Transaction of the Year Award teams include a renewable energy company, an importer, manufacturer, exporter and distributor of frozen food products, and a company that maintains infrastructure for the energy industry.

The four Turnaround of the Year Award teams helped reverse the fortunes of the following companies: one of Europe’s most widely recognized brands in the offshore subsea-services industry, a dried food processing company, a suppliers of premium fresh fruit and gourmet food gifts, and the aquarium made famous by the inspiring motion picture, Dolphin Tale.

The 2012 TMA Turnaround and Transaction of the Year Award winners are:

  • Transaction of the Year: Small Company – Raser Technologies Inc. (now Cyrq Energy, Inc.): Peter S. Partee, Sr., Hunton & Williams; Michael G. Wilson, Hunton & Williams.
  • Transaction of the Year: Mid-size Company – Contessa Premium Foods, Inc.: Marc Bilbao, Imperial Capital; Craig A. Wolfe, Kelley Drye & Warren; Dan Scouler, Sr., Scouler & Company; Mette H. Kurth, Arent Fox; Matthew Pakkala, FTI Consulting.
  • Transaction of the Year: Large Company – Aquilex Holdings: Gary Holtzer, Weil, Gotshal & Manges; Neil Augustine, Rothschild; Mark Collins, Richards, Layton & Finger; Lawrence Hirsh, Alvarez & Marsal North America; Stephen J Antinelli, Rothschild; Richard A. Levy, Latham & Watkins; Kris Hansen, Stroock & Stroock & Lavan; Erez E. Gilad, Stroock & Stroock & Lavan; Matthew A. Schwartz, Stroock & Stroock & Lavan; Jonathan A. (Joff) Mitchell, Zolfo Cooper; Anup Sathy, Kirkland & Ellis; James H.M. Sprayregen, Kirkland & Ellis; Joshua A. Sussberg, Kirkland & Ellis.
  • Turnaround of the Year: Small Company – Clearwater Marine Aquarium: David Yates, Clearwater Marine Aquarium.
  • Turnaround of the Year: Mid-size Company – Graceland Fruit, Inc.: Patrick O’Keefe, O’Keefe & Associates Consulting; Meagan Hardcastle, Harmon Partners; John Dimovski, Harmon Partners; William Fetterman, Advanced Manufacturing Group; Matt Thiede, O’Keefe & Associates Consulting.
  • Turnaround of the Year: Large Company – Harry & David: Kay Hong, Alvarez & Marsal; David Charne, Alvarez & Marsal; Paul Kosturos, Alvarez & Marsal; Rob Montgomery, Alvarez & Marsal; Brad Erens, Jones Day; Mark Cody, Jones Day; Timothy Hoffmann, Jones Day; Robert Krebs, Jones Day; Neil Augustine, Rothschild; Anthony Caluori, Rothschild; Jay Johnson, Rothschild.
  • Turnaround of the Year: International – DeepOcean Group Holding AS: John R. Castellano, AlixPartners; John E. Mitchell, Vinson & Elkins; David Hilty, Houlihan Lokey; David Ying, Evercore; Andrew Rosenberg, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison; Joel H. Levitin, Cahill Gordon Reindel; Richard Sj