Fortum has signed a €1.75 billion ($1.97 billion) syndicated multicurrency revolving facility agreement. The Royal Bank of Scotland and Nordea Bank acted as coordinators for the transaction.

The committed facility will be used for general corporate purposes and replaces the existing credit facility signed in July 2011. The facility has an initial maturity of five years and Fortum may request two one-year extension options.

Other participating banks are Barclays, MUFG, BNP Paribas, Citibank, Danske Bank, Deutsche Bank, Handelsbanken, ING, Intesa SanPaolo, Mizuho Bank, OP Corporate Bank, SEB, Société Générale, Swedbank AB and Unicredit Corporate & Investment Banking.

Fortum provides customers with electricity, heat and cooling as well as other energy solutions that improve present and future life.