Bank of Montreal elected Madhu Ranganathan and Stephen Dent to the company’s board of directors following its annual meeting of shareholders.

“We are pleased to welcome Steve and Madhu to the board of directors,” George Cope, chair of the board at BMO, said. “Their knowledge and experience will be an excellent complement to the talented group of individuals serving on our board.”

Ranganathan is the executive vice president and CFO at OpenText. She has more than 30 years of financial leadership experience, with a Silicon Valley technology driven background that includes operational focus in software, hardware and tech-enabled services businesses.

Prior to joining OpenText in 2018, Ranganathan spent 10 years as the CFO of [24], a global customer experience software and services company. Throughout her career, she has served in various roles with technology companies and accounting and financial services firms.

Ranganathan currently serves as a board member and audit committee chair for Akamai Technologies. She is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, India and a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Dent is a managing director and co-founder of Birch Hill Equity Partners, a Toronto-based private equity firm. Dent has more than 30 years of experience in private equity, capital allocation, strategic planning, accounting and finance.

Prior to his current role, he spent 15 years at a Canadian chartered bank, culminating in a senior role leading the Canadian private equity division of the bank.

Dent is a member of the Business Council of Canada. He was involved in the founding and continues to be involved with ongoing support of Our Children’s Medicine, an organization promoting Indigenous employment with Canadian companies. He also was involved in the founding and continues to be involved with ongoing support of the Birch Hill Scholarship Program, supporting business school education for Indigenous youth.

At BMO’s annual meeting of shareholders, all the director nominees listed in the bank’s management proxy circular dated Feb. 11 were elected. The detailed results of the vote for the election of directors are set out below. Each of the following 13 directors proposed by management was elected.

Nominee Votes For Votes Withheld
Janice M. Babiak 299,680,685 98.67% 4,050,330 1.33%
Sophie Brochu 301,988,463 99.43% 1,742,548 0.57%
Craig W. Broderick 302,562,672 99.62% 1,168,343 0.38%
George A. Cope 297,873,529 98.07% 5,856,768 1.93%
Stephen Dent 302,858,750 99.71% 872,265 0.29%
Christine A. Edwards 301,385,255 99.23% 2,344,442 0.77%
Dr. Martin S. Eichenbaum 302,522,147 99.60% 1,208,616 0.40%
David Harquail 302,882,265 99.73% 818,750 0.27%
Linda S. Huber 302,842,503 99.71% 888,512 0.29%
Eric R. La Flèche 301,235,814 99.18% 2,495,201 0.82%
Lorraine Mitchelmore 302,157,409 99.48% 1,573,606 0.52%
Madhu Ranganathan 301,330,217 99.21% 2,400,806 0.79%
Darryl White 302,828,132 99.71% 872,891 0.29%